Erschienen: 08.08.2019 Abbildung von Safouane | Stories of Border Crossers | 2019 | A Critical Inquiry Into Forced...


Stories of Border Crossers

A Critical Inquiry Into Forced Migrants’ Journey Narratives to the European Union

lieferbar ca. 10 Tage als Sonderdruck ohne Rückgaberecht

auch verfügbar als eBook (PDF) für 19.99 €

2019. Buch. xvii, 239 S. 4 s/w-Abbildungen, Bibliographien. Softcover

Springer VS. ISBN 978-3-658-27402-3

Format (B x L): 14,8 x 21 cm

Gewicht: 341 g

Das Werk ist Teil der Reihe: Politik und Gesellschaft des Nahen Ostens


More than just reminding us that migrant voices matter, this book discusses the operationalization and integration of migrant narratives in the overall discourse and proposes a critical reflection on the knowledge production about migration. Hamza Safouane draws on personal testimonies from refugees and asylum seekers who came to Germany during the 2015 'long summer of migration' to examine migratory journeys from an immanent perspective. What analytical, ethical and methodological frameworks can be used to receive the stories of forced migrants and integrate them into a production of knowledge that is too often deaf to their voices? Contents• A Critical Overview of Discourses on Migration• The Migration Management Regime and the Mobility Regime• Re-articulating the Notion of Hospitality as an Invitation to Speak• Migration Discourses and Migrant Narratives• Arranging Data into Knowledge: Accuracy, Truth, Biases• The Phases of the Migratory Journey: Triggers, Obstacles, Tactics Target Groups• Academics and students in political science, sociology and political geography who are interested in migration.• Migrants, practitioners in the field of migration policy and migration-related civil society, NGOs and international organizations. The AuthorDr. Hamza Safouane received his doctorate in Planning, Governance and Globalization from Virginia Tech, USA and is currently working as a postdoctoral research fellow at the Helmut Schmidt University in Hamburg, Germany.


  • Dieses Set enthält folgende Produkte:
      Auch in folgendem Set erhältlich:
      • nach oben

        Ihre Daten werden geladen ...