Erschienen: 09.12.2019 Abbildung von Ballantyne | Scottish Dance Beyond 1805 | 2019 | Reaction and Regulation


Scottish Dance Beyond 1805

Reaction and Regulation

Buch. Hardcover


x, 196 S. 11 s/w-Abbildungen, 7 s/w-Fotos, 4 s/w-Tabelle

In englischer Sprache

CRC Press. ISBN 978-1-138-35877-5

Format (B x L): 15,9 x 23,5 cm

Gewicht: 540 g

Das Werk ist Teil der Reihe: Routledge Studies in Ethnomusicology


Scottish Dance Beyond 1805 presents a history of Scottish music and dance over the last 200 years, with a focus on sources originating in Aberdeenshire, when steps could be adapted in any way the dancer pleased. The book explains the major changes in the way that dance was taught and performed by chronicling the shift from individual dancing masters to professional, licensed members of regulatory societies. This ethnographical study assesses how dances such as the Highland Fling have been altered and how standardisation has affected contemporary Highland dance and music, by examining the experience of dancers and pipers. It considers reactions to regulation and standardisation through the introduction to Scotland of percussive step dance and caller-facilitated ceilidh dancing.
Today’s Highland dancing is a standardised and international form of dance. This book tells the story of what changed over the last 200 years and why. It unfolds through a series of colourful characters, through the dances they taught and the music they danced to and through the story of one dance in particular, the Highland Fling. It considers how Scottish dance reflected changes in Scottish society and culture.
The book will be of interest to scholars and postgraduates in the fields of Dance History, Ethnomusicology, Ethnochoreology, Ethnology and Folklore, Cultural History, Scottish Studies and Scottish Traditional Music as well as to teachers, judges and practitioners of Highland dancing and to those interested in the history of Scottish dance, music and culture.


  • Rezensionen

    Dieses Set enthält folgende Produkte:
      Auch in folgendem Set erhältlich:
      • nach oben

        Ihre Daten werden geladen ...